Introducing Me, Outreachy and Debian😃

·

2 min read

Introducing Me, Outreachy and Debian😃

Hey👋,

Some info about me.

My name is Israel Galadima and I'm an Outreachy intern with Debian for the May 2022 to August 2022 cohort.

😕Now, you may be wondering what Outreachy and Debian are so here's some background info:

Outreachy provides paid, remote internships with Free and Open Source Software (FOSS) communities. Debian is one of such FOSS communities.

Why am I starting a blog?

Outreachy interns are required to blog every two weeks about progress made during their internship. So this blog post is the first in a series of blog posts from me. Stay tuned for more😉.

Some more info about me.

I'm currently a university student in Nigeria. I started programming with Python and Javascript during my second year in university. I enjoy solving non-trivial problems and learning about non-trivial matters. My personal values are fairness, responsibility, curiosity, learning and achievement.

What motivated me to apply for Outreachy?

My motivations for applying to Outreachy were the stipend and the opportunities that I perceived will follow from my participation. I saw an opportunity to become a better programmer and an opportunity to get ahead in my career. I'm glad I got accepted into Outreachy. I encourage you to apply for the next opening. Here's their website for more info.

Some info about Debian.

Debian is an all-volunteer organization of developers, contributors, and users working to create a free operating system, freely available for everyone. You can read more about Debian here.

Thank you for reading. See you next time👋.

Â