Season of KDE 2024 Blog Post #1

Season of KDE 2024 Blog Post #1

ยท

2 min read

Greetings everyone! ๐Ÿ˜€

About Me, KDE and Season of KDE

My name is Israel Galadima and I'm participating in the Season of KDE 2024 (SoK'24) program. For those unfamiliar, KDE is a volunteer-driven community of contributors who develop a collection of free and open-source software. Season of KDE (SoK) is an outreach program by the KDE community for newcomers to do mentored projects in KDE. I applied to this program because it presented me with an opportunity to improve my C++ skills. So far so good, I'm learning a lot and I'm grateful to KDE for this opportunity.

What I'm Working On

The project I'm working on for SoK'24 is titled "LabPlot: Download/Import of datasets from kaggle.com". LabPlot is a data visualization and analysis application in KDE. Kaggle is an online community where data scientists can publish and find datasets. With over 350000 datasets, Kaggle seems to be the central place nowadays for finding datasets in the data science community. My task is to add functionality to LabPlot which enables a user to search for and import datasets from Kaggle.

What I Have Achieved So Far

Over the past weeks, I've been able to implement this functionality and it now lives in a new dialog under File > Import > From Kaggle. The video below shows a demo of this new dialog.

What I Plan to Do Before the End of Work

As the program draws to a close, my focus is now on refining the user interface and experience of the new dialog. Based on feedback from my mentor, I aim to:

  • Use QToolButtons with icons for the previous, next and download buttons,

  • Add a QComboBox to let the user adjust the number of datasets per page,

  • Add a QSplitter between the upper and the lower widgets so the user can adjust the space that is available to either of them,

  • Add a "Hide Preview" button that toggles the visibility of the preview,

  • And optimize the dialog for bigger screens.

Wish me luck.

Thanks for reading.

ย